Emergent Nets: Optical Sutras

The exhibition “Emergent Nets: Optical Sutras” comprises a three types of artworks, works on paper, works on aluminium, and textile pieces. The pieces all share a common structure in being based on geometries which have been discovered in the late 20th century and early 21st century, including many discovered by the artist is the course of this artistic/ geometric research. The title of the series and exhibition combines two concepts – Emergence, and Sutras.

In philosophy and systems theory, Emergence occurs when “the whole is greater than the sum of the parts,” meaning the whole has properties its parts do not have. These properties come about because of interactions among the parts. Emergence plays a central role in theories of integrative levels and of complex systems. For instance, the phenomenon of life as studied in biology is an emergent property of chemistry.

The Sanskrit word Sūtra means “string or thread”. The root of the word is siv, that which sews and holds things together and is related to sūnā meaning “woven”. In literature, sūtra means a distilled collection of syllables and words, an aphorism, rule or direction, hanging together like threads with which the teachings of ritual, philosophy, grammar, or any field of knowledge can be woven.

These artworks similarly, are composed by following short geometric rules that weave together to create an optical effect, to make a “kasina” – a Buddhist term for a visual object of meditation. The result is a complex net, path or structure, which has emerged by following a series of rules or procedures, and which possess variable beautiful effects which are revealed only at particular distances from the work. The details appear to be important, but they exist only to embody the system. The closer you get, the less meaning there is, while the further away you stand, the easier it is to comprehend.

The Emergent Net series are not only perceptual art, exploring visual phenomena, they are also intended to inspire philosophical contemplation. The winding paths, hidden patterns, and ordered complexity prompt musings on the nature of the cosmos and our challenge to see it clearly.

展覽地點

Inquiry

Information

Required fields are indicated with *

宇宙網絡:視覺經文

本展覽由三種類型的藝術品組成:紙上作品、鋁板作品和織品創作。這些作品的共通架構是建立在二十世紀晚期及二十一世紀早期所出現的幾何學之上,其中包含許多藝術家賀仕爾在藝術/幾何研究的發現。本展覽涵蓋了兩種概念— 突現性(Emergence) 和契經(Sutras)。

在哲學、系統理論,突現性發生於「整體大於各部分之總合」時,亦即整體具有其部分所沒有的特性,而這些特性則源自各部間的交互作用。突現性在各領域的綜合層面以及複雜系統中扮演核心角色。舉例來說,生命現象在生物學裡就是各種化學物質的突現特性。

梵文的契經(Sūtra)意思是「線」或「絲」。它的字根是「siv」,意指把事物縫合或固定在一起。這個字和代表「針、列」的「sūci」和表達「縫製」的「sūnā」都有關聯。在文學的脈絡裡,契經指的是彙編精煉的文字,或者藉由任何形式或手冊所呈現的「格言、規則,和方向」。它們像絲線一樣串聯在一起,如同儀典、哲學、文法或任何其他可編整的知識領域。

同樣的,這些藝術作品依循著簡短的幾何規則所組成,彼此接合以達成視幻的效果,他們創造出的「遍(kasina)」也就是禪想的視覺具象物。其結果形成複雜的網、路徑或結構,便是依照一系列的規則和步驟後的產物,然而這些網的美麗特性只能藉由遠觀窺得。細節是重要的,但它們的存在只為了體現系統。

「宇宙網絡:視覺經文」系列不僅是圖象,更是概念,它們旨在激發哲學思考。在華麗繁複的畫面變化之中,藝術家表示:「細節是重要的,但它們的存在只為了體現系統」,蜿蜒的路徑、隱藏的模式和有序的複雜性,吸引觀者在微觀與遠視當中,漸次進入創作者的宇宙,促使人們思考宇宙的本質。

展覽地點

洽詢

藏家資訊

*為必填欄位